-- Note: twitter hashtag: #eirg --

Monday, 9 June 2014- Day 1 (09:00-17:30)

09:00 - 09:15 Registration

Opening session (videos)
09:15 Welcome address; goals of the workshop Sverker Holmgren, e-IRG Chair [ pdf ]
09:25 Welcome address by Greek ministry Christos Vasilakos, General Secretary Research and Technology
09:35 Welcome address by local host Panos Argyrakis, AUTH and GRNET
09:45 e-Infrastructure policy EC Anni Hellman, DG CONNECT [ pdf ]
10:15 Charter of Access Rosette Vandenbroucke, VUB [ pdf ] (draft European Charter for Access to RIs [ pdf ])
10:45 Coffee/Tea  

Track 1 Coordination and collaboration (videos)
Chair: Vasilis Maglaris, National Technical University of Athens (NTUA)

The main objective of the session is to explore synergies among major e-Infrastructures providers towards an "e-Infrastructure Commons" to better serve user aspects and in particular the ESFRI project communities. Current developments and ideas/policies for further cooperation will be presented from various key stakeholders

11:15 e-Infrastructure commons Bob Day (JANET) [ pdf ]
11:45 Collaboration ESFRI/e-IRG Yannis Ioannidis (ESFRI) [ pdf ]
12:15 Panel discussion Vasilis Maglaris (NTUA-Chair), Sergio Andreozzi ( INSPIRE), Kees Neggers (SURF), Françoise Genova (CDS) [ pdf ], Sergi Girona (BSC-PRACE), Giuseppe Fiameni (CINECA-EUDAT)
13:00 Light Lunch  

Track 2 Data aspects (videos)
Chair: Yannis Ioannidis, ATHENA Research Center and University of Athens

The main objective of the session is to present data management challenges along with possible best practices to confront such challenges, always keeping in mind the user perspective and needs. Activities from RDA, the UK Digital Curation Center, the ELIXIR ESFRI project and input from Computer Science Researchers that have been dealing with such challenges for many years will be presented. Finally cost aspects of data management will also be touched.

14:00 Presentation on international cooperation Juan Bicarregui (STFC and RDA) [ pdf ]
14:30 Presentation on general data management - Research libraries and Data Centers Kevin Ashley (UK DCC) [ pdf ]
15:00 Big data management challenges Peter Baumann, Dimitar Misev (Jacobs University Bremen) [ pdf ]
15:30 ELIXIR data management challenges Andrew Smith (ELIXIR) [ pdf ]
16:00 Coffee/Tea  

Track 3 User aspects - (videos)
1st part - Chair: Andrew Cormack (JANET)

The main objective of the session is to present a series of e-Infrastructure users aspects, both by the users' and by the providers' side. Topics include legal issues, authentication (e.g. eduGAIN), PIDs, training and education, and data aspects/needs by research libraries. There is a need for user requirements to be taken into account by e-Infrastructure providers swiftly and that there is more e-Infrastructures coordination in favour of the users (i.e. that users easily find their way to the different services offered by e-Infrastructure providers).

16:30 Legal issues Andrew Cormack (JANET) [ pdf ]
17:00 Core services Christos Kanellopoulos (GRNET) [ pdf ]
17:30 End of sessions day 1

18:30 Guided tour at the Acropolis Museum

19:30 Dinner at the Restaurant of the Acropolis Museum

(See details and map above)


Tuesday, 10 June 2014- Day 2 (09:00-13:00) - (videos)

Track 3 User aspects (2nd part)
Chair: Andrew Cormack (JANET)

9:00 Data Libraries needs/experiences Susan Reilly (LIBER/LERU) [ pdf ]
9:30 Training Colin J. Wright (CSIR) [ pdf ]
10:00 Panel discussion (for tracks 2 and 3) Andrew Cormack (chair), Juan Bicarregui (STFC), Kevin Ashley (UK DCC), Christos Kanellopoulos (GRNET), Susan Reilly, LIBER/LERU, Hans Pfeiffenberg (ScienceEurope)
11:00 Coffee/Tea  

Track 4 Horizon 2020 Work Programme 2016-2017
Chair: Sverker Holmgren, e-IRG Chair

The main objective of this session is to present the current plans for the next e-Infrastructure Work Programme under Horizon 2020 (WP 2016-2017) and to get feedback from the audience (in an open consultation mode). Input from the previous sessions will be used.

11:30 Horizon 2020 Work Programme 2016-2017 Anni Hellman, DG CONNECT [ pdf ]
12:00 Panel discussion & discussion with audience Sverker Holmgren (chair) [ pdf ], Yannis Ioannidis (ESFRI), Arjen Van Rijn (e-IRG WG on e-Infrastructure Commons) [ pdf ]

Closing session

12:45 Wrap up and conclusions Sverker Holmgren
12:55 Final words, remarks, actions and next presidency Sverker Holmgren, Panos Argyrakis, Enzo Valente
13:00 End of workshop, light lunch