Mission and Vision

e-IRG is a strategic body to facilitate integration in the area of European e-Infrastructures and connected services, within and between member states, at the European level and globally.

The mission of e-IRG is to support both coherent, innovative and strategic European e-Infrastructure policymaking and the development of convergent and sustainable e-Infrastructure services.

Read further...

e-Infrastructure Commons

The term e-Infrastructure Commons was initially presented in the e-IRG Roadmap 2012.  e-IRG uses the metaphor of the Commons for the e-Infrastructure resources and related services, which among others refer to networking, computing, storage, data and software, along with digital tools and collaboration opportunities. In the e-IRG Roadmap 2012, e-IRG outlines Europe's need for a single "e-Infrastructure Commons" for knowledge, innovation and science. The e-Infrastructure Commons is the political, technological, and administrative framework for an easy and cost-effective shared use of distributed electronic resources across Europe. The e-Infrastructure Commons can be defined as an integrated living ecosystem of resources and services that is open, user friendly and accessible to European researchers and scientists, and continuously adapts to the changing requirements of research and science.

Read further...

The work of the e-IRG is supported by the EC cofunded project e-IRGSP6. Previously the work was supported by e-IRGSP up to e-IRGSP5.

e-IRG activities are closely connected to the current Presidency of the European Union (EU). For instance the workshops are organised in and together with the country that holds the Presicency. EU member states met on 13 December 2004 and reached political agreement on provisions concerning the exercise of the Council Presidency including the order of Presidencies.

The current and future EU-presidencies until June 2020:

July - December 2016 Slovakia

January - June 2017 Malta
July - December 2017 United Kingdom

--- will not take place in UK due to the Brexit ---

July - December 2017 Estonia
January - June 2018 Bulgaria
July - December 2018 Austria
January - June 2019 Romania
July - December 2019 Finland
January - June 2020 Croatia  
July - December 2020 Germany  
January - June 2021 Portugal  
July - December 2021 Slovenia  
January - June 2022 France  
July - December 2022 Czech Slovakia  
January - June 2023 Sweden  
July - December 2023 Spain  
January - June 2024 Belgium  
July - December 2024 Hungary  
January - June 2025 Poland  
July - December 2025 Denmark  
January - June 2026 Cyprus  
July - December 2026 Ireland  
January - June 2027 Lithuania  
July - December 2027 Greece  
January - June 2028 Italy  
July - December 2028 Latvia  
January - June 2029 Luxembourg  
July - December 2029 The Netherlands  
January - June 2030 Slovakia  
July - December 2030 Malta